Christmas in Banff runs from mid-November to early January and this page gives you the 2026 event calendar, the castle and gondola set pieces, sleigh rides and skating, what is open on 24 to 26 December, and the winter experiences that suit the week. For the wider season see our winter in Banff guide. The rest of the park is on Banff City Guide.
Quick answer The season in one paragraph
Banff's Christmas season runs from mid-November to early January. The Banff Christmas Market closes on December 13, so Christmas week itself is about the castle at the Banff Springs, the gondola's mountaintop Christmas, the free In Search of Christmas Spirit walk, sleigh rides, skating on the lakes and the hot springs. Book the December 25 dinners early because they sell out.
Key takeaways
- Warm up after the snow with the horse-drawn sleigh ride through the meadows below Cascade Mountain.
- The market details live on the Christmas market page, and it ends December 13.
- Soak in falling snow at Banff Upper Hot Springs, open every day including Christmas Day.
- Ride up for cookies and letters to Santa with the Banff Gondola, daily from December 22.
Christmas Tours and Winter Experiences in Banff
Families usually start with the Banff sleigh ride, which runs 40 minutes with blankets and a fireside hot drink at the end. If the frozen canyon calls, the Johnston Canyon icewalk takes you to the frozen Upper Falls with cleats and a guide, and the Kananaskis sleigh at Boundary Ranch is a short shared outing outside the park with a hot drink and a buffalo paddock stop. Prices below are the tour listings' own. More winter outings are on things to do in Banff and every tour we list is compared on Banff tours.
Listed at checkout
Banff Horse-Drawn Sleigh Ride
A 40-minute sleigh ride through the snowy meadows below Cascade Mountain, wool blankets, then a fireside hot drink at the stables.
Check Availability
Listed at checkout
Banff Christmas Foodie Walking Tour
A 3-hour guided walk through Banff at Christmas, tasting winter dishes, holiday treats and Christmas-spiced cocktails, ten guests at most.
Check Availability
from $68.04
Banff Gondola Ride Admission
The ride up Sulphur Mountain to the ridge boardwalk, booked as a timed ticket; summit boardwalk and cosmic ray station included.
Check Availability
from $79.45
Johnston Canyon Icewalk
The frozen canyon after dark or dawn: ice cleats, headlamps and a guide to the frozen Upper Falls.
Check Availability
from $201.23
Lake Louise and Johnston Canyon Winter Day Tour
Ten guests at most: Johnston Canyon's frozen falls, then skating or snowshoeing on Lake Louise, gear, picnic lunch and hot drinks included.
Check Availability
from $126.21
Snowshoeing on Top of the World
A guided backcountry snowshoe off the trails in deep powder, with hotel pickup, snowshoes, poles and snacks included.
Check Availability
from $79.87
Snowshoeing Tour to the Paint Pots
An easy 3 km snowshoe through Kootenay's forest to the ochre Paint Pots, with transport from Banff, hot chocolate and maple taffy on snow.
Check Availability
from $85.23
Lake Louise Winterland from Banff
A guided day at frozen Lake Louise with free time on the ice, snowshoes, snacks and hotel pickup in Banff.
Check Availability
from $39.16
Kananaskis Shared Winter Sleigh Ride
A 30-minute horse-drawn sleigh or wagon ride at Boundary Ranch in Kananaskis, a hot drink by the outdoor fire and a stop at the buffalo paddock.
Check AvailabilityPrices, ratings and details are the platform's own. Dollar figures are the listed prices. The platform bills in your account's currency.
The 2026 Christmas Calendar in Banff
The dates below come from Banff Lake Louise Tourism's Christmas events list and the organisers' own pages. They cover the market, the spirit walk, the Hot Chocolate Trail, the castle season, the gondola's mountaintop Christmas, the Banff Centre concerts, the holiday train and the December 25 dinners. The big planning fact sits under the table: the market ends December 13, well before Christmas.
Every Dated Event, November to January
The season stretches across seven weeks, so pick your dates by what you want on the ground. Market fans should come early. Castle and spirit-walk fans should come late, when everything is running nightly.
| Event | Dates | Where | Cost |
|---|---|---|---|
| In Search of Christmas Spirit | Select dates November 12, 2026 to January 3, 2027, nightly from December 17 | Cascade of Time Garden, Cave Avenue | Free with a reserved ticket for everyone over age 2 |
| Banff Christmas Market | Select dates November 19 to December 13, 2026 | Banff train station | From $5.32 (C$7.50), see the market page |
| Hot Chocolate Trail | November 12, 2026 to February 7, 2027 | More than 30 restaurants and cafés around town | Buy a drink at each stop, prices set by each venue |
| A Very Vintage Mountaintop Christmas | Select dates November 21 to December 31, 2026, daily December 22 to 31 | Banff Gondola summit, Sulphur Mountain | Gondola ticket required, one child free per paying adult before noon |
| Christmas at the Castle | November 20, 2026 to January 1, 2027 | Fairmont Banff Springs, 405 Spray Avenue | Many events free for hotel guests, some carry an extra fee |
| Laila Biali Wintersongs | December 2, 2026 | Banff Centre | Not stated |
| A Naughty Christmas with Ricky Diamonds | December 10, 2026 | Banff (see the events listing) | Not stated |
| CPKC Holiday Train | December 15, 2026, Banff 7:15-7:45pm | Banff train station, Railway Avenue | Free, bring cash or food donations |
| Meow Meow Feline Festive | December 16, 2026 | Banff Centre | Not stated |
| Christmas Dinner at Crave, La Terrazza and The Fat Ox | December 25, 2026 | Banff restaurants | Not stated, reserve ahead |
| Mountains & Mistletoe Christmas Brunch | December 25, 2026 | The Juniper | Not stated, reserve ahead |
| Christmas Eve and Christmas Day dinners at Fairmont Banff Springs | December 24 and 25, 2026 | Fairmont Banff Springs dining rooms | Not stated, reservations advised |
| New Year's Eve dinner at Crave | December 31, 2026 | Banff | Not stated, reserve ahead |
| Canmore Festival of Trees | November 28 to December 31, 2026 | The Malcolm hotel, Canmore | Public viewing |
The Market Ends Before Christmas
The trap in the calendar is the market. The Banff Christmas Market ends December 13, 2026, so anyone arriving for Christmas week will find the train station stalls gone. The things that carry the season through the holidays are the spirit walk, which goes nightly from December 17, the castle programme, the gondola's mountaintop Christmas and the dinners on December 25.
If the market is your reason for coming, book the early dates. Dates, tickets and parking are on the Banff Christmas Market page.
Source: Banff Lake Louise Tourism Christmas events and the Banff Christmas Market.
A side street off Banff Avenue on a December evening.
In Search of Christmas Spirit: Tickets, Times, What to Expect
In Search of Christmas Spirit is the free event that carries Christmas week in Banff, an outdoor evening walk at the Cascade of Time Garden on Cave Avenue, less than 1 km from downtown, created by Indigenous artist Jason Carter and creative director Bridget Ryan.
Dates and Times
The walk runs on select dates from November 12 to December 6, then December 10 to 13, and then nightly from December 17, 2026 to January 3, 2027. It operates 4:30pm to 9:30pm each evening. The walk itself takes about 30 to 45 minutes, so a visit fits easily before or after dinner.
Tickets
The event is free, but every guest over age 2 needs a reserved ticket and there are no group tickets. General admission for December 10, 2026 to January 3, 2027 releases on November 30 at 10am. Guests of 15 participating hotels get early access, and the list includes Fairmont Banff Springs, Banff Park Lodge, Buffalo Mountain Lodge, The Juniper, The Kenrick, Moxy Banff, Rimrock Banff, Peaks Hotel, Brewster Mountain Lodge and Lake Louise Inn.
Staying at one of those hotels is the simplest way to beat the release rush.
Access, Pets and Footing
The route is not accessible for wheelchairs, walkers or mobility devices. Strollers are parked unsupervised at the entrance. No pets are allowed and there is no food or drink on site, though washrooms are.
Cleats or microspikes are recommended because the path can be icy. The event may be modified or cancelled in extreme weather, so check the day of.
Getting There
There is no parking at the site. Roam routes 1 and 2 stop at Banff Park Museum or Downtown Buffalo East, both a short walk from the garden. If you drive, use the paid parking at Central Park, about five minutes' walk away.
Source: In Search of Christmas Spirit.
Christmas at the Castle: Fairmont Banff Springs
Christmas at the Castle at Fairmont Banff Springs runs from November 20, 2026 to January 1, 2027. The 1888 railway hotel above the Bow Falls is the set piece of the Banff Christmas season, and its festive dining rooms take outside bookings.
What Happens at the Castle
The season line-up includes gingerbread house decorating, holiday carolers, wilderness walks, holiday crafts, brunch buffets, festive afternoon tea and private dining in Santa's dining room. Many events are complimentary for hotel guests and some carry an extra fee. The hotel phone is +1 403 762 2211 if you want to confirm a specific activity before you go.
The Christmas Package
The Christmas at the Castle package covers stays between December 14, 2026 and January 5, 2027 and includes accommodation, access to the Christmas at the Castle events and activities, and complimentary self-parking. No package price is published. Rates come out of the hotel's booking engine, so price your dates there or on our Banff Springs hotel page.
Festive Dining
The festive dining schedule below is the 2026 listing. Reservations are advised for all of it, and the December 25 services are the ones that fill first.
| Meal | Date | Time |
|---|---|---|
| Festive Brunch | Sundays November 29, December 6, 13, 20 and 27 | Not stated |
| Festive Afternoon Tea | Daily December 1, 2026 to January 1, 2027 | Not stated |
| Christmas Eve Dinner Buffet | December 24 | 5:00pm-9:30pm |
| Christmas Day Brunch | December 25 | 10:00am-2:30pm |
| Christmas Day Dinner | December 25 | 5:00pm-9:30pm |
A Christmas Carol at the Castle
A Christmas Carol at the Castle has performances on Christmas Eve and on Christmas Day, so you can pair the show with the brunch or the dinner on either day.
Source: Christmas at the Castle, Fairmont Banff Springs Christmas offer, The Banff Blog.
Fairmont Banff Springs under early-winter snow. Photo: James Levy, CC BY-SA 3.0, via Wikimedia Commons
Christmas dinner by a window in a castle dining room.
Mountaintop Christmas on the Banff Gondola
The Banff Gondola turns its Sulphur Mountain summit into a mountaintop Christmas through the season, with festive activities at the top and a child-friendly twist on the ticket price before noon.
Dates
Mountaintop Christmas runs on Saturdays and Sundays from November 21, then daily from December 22 to December 31, 2026. The daily stretch covers Christmas itself, which makes the summit one of the surest bets in town on December 25.
Kids Ride Free Before Noon
One child rides free per paying adult before 12 pm on the Mountaintop Christmas dates. With children, a morning ride gets you the deal.
What Is at the Top
Expect a hot drink, cookie or ornament decorating, a selfie station, an elf-name generator and a letter for Santa, alongside the usual summit boardwalk and ridge views. Book ahead for the timed rides with Banff Gondola tickets, and read the practical detail on the Banff Gondola page.
Source: Banff Jasper Collection, The Banff Blog.
The Sulphur Mountain summit building and boardwalk in winter. Photo: Giovanni Moschini, CC0, via Wikimedia Commons
Sleigh Rides, Skating and Lake Louise at Christmas
Two sleigh options and a set of frozen lake rinks make up the outdoor heart of the week. The Banff ride suits families and anyone who wants a short classic outing, while Lake Louise gives you the most photographed rink in the Rockies.
Sleigh Rides in Banff
Banff Trail Riders run horse-drawn sleigh rides across the snowy meadows outside town, as a private family outing or a ride for two, with warm blankets. The Banff horse-drawn sleigh ride lasts 40 minutes, passes below Rundle and Cascade Mountain and ends with a fireside hot drink back at the stables. The price shows at checkout.
The Kananaskis Sleigh
The Kananaskis shared winter sleigh ride is a 30-minute horse-drawn sleigh or wagon ride at Boundary Ranch, outside the national park. A hot drink by the outdoor fire and a stop at the buffalo paddock are included, and the listing price covers fees and taxes.
Skating at Lake Louise
Lake Louise is the classic rink. The rinks on the lake are resurfaced nightly through winter. Skates rent at the Chateau or at Wilson Mountain Sports in the village, so you do not need to carry your own.
Sleigh rides from the Chateau run from mid-December to April and last 45 minutes to an hour, which pairs well with a morning on the ice.
Avalanche Warning Above the Lake
Avoid the Plain of Six Glaciers and Lake Agnes trails in December. Both cross avalanche terrain, so keep a Christmas visit to the lake ice and the lakeshore.
Other Skating Lakes
Lake Minnewanka, Vermilion Lakes, Two Jack Lake and Johnson Lake also freeze into skatable surfaces. December and January are the best months on the larger lakes. Always check ice thickness before you go out, because natural lake ice varies week to week.
Guided Lake Louise Days
If you would rather hand over the driving and the gear, the Lake Louise Winterland from Banff adds snowshoes, snacks and hotel pickup to a day on the ice. The Lake Louise and Johnston Canyon winter day tour takes ten guests at most and combines the frozen falls with skating or snowshoeing at the lake, lunch and hot drinks included.
Source: The Banff Blog Christmas guide and Banff Jasper Collection.
A horse-drawn sleigh in the meadows below Cascade Mountain.
The ice castle and skating area on frozen Lake Louise. Photo: Thank you for visiting my page from Canada, CC BY 2.0, via Wikimedia Commons
What's Open on Christmas Eve, Christmas Day and Boxing Day
Banff keeps most of its winter running over the holidays. The ski resorts open on Christmas Day, the hot springs keep their normal hours and the castle serves its Christmas meals, while the market has already closed. The table covers the main places across December 24 to 26.
The rows below cover the fixed anchors of the week and the dining rooms taking Christmas bookings. Ski resorts are shown as a group because all three open on December 25.
| Place | 24 Dec | 25 Dec | 26 Dec |
|---|---|---|---|
| Banff Upper Hot Springs | Open 10am-10pm | Open 10am-10pm | Open 10am-10pm |
| In Search of Christmas Spirit | 4:30-9:30pm | 4:30-9:30pm | 4:30-9:30pm |
| Mountaintop Christmas, Banff Gondola | Open (daily run Dec 22-31) | Open | Open |
| Fairmont Banff Springs dining | Christmas Eve Dinner Buffet 5:00-9:30pm | Brunch 10:00am-2:30pm, Dinner 5:00-9:30pm | Festive Afternoon Tea daily |
| Banff Christmas Market | Closed (ended Dec 13) | Closed | Closed |
| Ski resorts (Sunshine, Lake Louise, Norquay) | Open | Open | Open |
| Christmas dinner restaurants | Plenty of restaurants open, book ahead | Crave, La Terrazza, The Fat Ox, The Juniper brunch | Plenty open, book ahead |
Hot Springs Practicalities
Banff Upper Hot Springs opens daily 10am to 10pm with last entry at 9:30pm, including Christmas Day, Boxing Day and New Year's Day. The water sits at 37 to 40°C. Entry is first-come, first-served at reception only and there are no advance tickets, so you queue on arrival. Adult entry is $14.02 (C$19.75).
Roam Route 1 runs every 20 minutes to the pool. Full practical detail is on the Banff Upper Hot Springs page.
Source: Parks Canada hot springs hours, Banff Lake Louise Tourism, The Banff Blog.
An outdoor hot pool steaming in falling snow at dusk.
Christmas Dinner, Fondue and the Hot Chocolate Trail
Christmas Day dinner is the tightest reservation in town. Four December 25 meals are listed outside the castle, and holiday restaurants book out fast, so reserve as soon as you know your dates.
The December 25 Dinners
Banff Lake Louise Tourism lists Christmas Dinner at Crave, at La Terrazza and with The Fat Ox on December 25, plus the Mountains & Mistletoe Christmas Brunch at The Juniper. The Fat Ox dinner is family-style with porchetta or prime rib. The Fairmont Banff Springs adds its own Christmas Day Brunch at 10:00am-2:30pm and Dinner at 5:00pm-9:30pm.
Prices are not stated on the listings, so ask when you book.
Fondue at the Waldhaus
The Waldhaus at the Banff Springs serves alpine cheese fondue, our pick for a warm table on a cold night. Book early. The wider restaurant scene is on where to eat in Banff.
The Hot Chocolate Trail
The Hot Chocolate Trail runs November 12, 2026 to February 7, 2027 across more than 30 restaurants and cafés, including adult-only versions. It pairs with an evening on Banff Avenue, where the Spirit of Christmas store sells decorations from film characters to Canadiana. To taste your way through town with a guide, the Christmas foodie walking tour runs three hours with holiday treats and Christmas-spiced cocktails.
Source: Banff Lake Louise Tourism Christmas events, SkiBig3, Banff Jasper Collection.
Cheese fondue on a December night.
Weather, Daylight and Getting Around at Christmas
December is the coldest month in Banff and the sun drops early, so plan the outdoor blocks for the middle of the day and keep a warm indoor option for after 4:30pm.
December Numbers
The long-run December figures for Banff town (ERA5 1995-2024) are an average high of -7.7°C and an average low of -15.0°C, with 25.6 mm precipitation over 6.3 wet days. Sunset in December is around 4:30pm. Dress in layers, and add cleats or microspikes for icy pavements and paths.
The spirit walk organisers recommend them too.
Driving Rules
Winter tires are legally required on BC highways and on the Icefields Parkway. Check 511 Alberta for road conditions before any drive. If you would rather not drive at all, Roam Transit covers town and the hot springs route, and the options are laid out on getting around Banff.
Costs and Crowds
Park entry is $8.69 (C$12.25) per adult per day, and the pass options are compared on our Parks Canada pass page. Parks Canada names 26 December to 1 January among the busiest dates of the winter, so lock in rooms and dinner tables early. Our where to stay guide covers the neighbourhoods.
Source: Open-Meteo historical weather and Parks Canada fees.
Fresh snow on the creek below Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise. Photo: KathieN13, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons
Christmas in Banff Questions
Is Christmas a good time to visit Banff?
It is one of the most atmospheric weeks of the year, with the castle season running, the spirit walk on nightly from December 17, the gondola's mountaintop Christmas daily from December 22, sleigh rides and lake skating. The trade-offs are cold (December averages a high of -7.7°C), early dark at around 4:30pm and heavy crowds from December 26 to January 1.
What is the most Christmassy town in Canada?
No official ranking exists. Banff makes a strong case in the Rockies: a castle hotel with a six-week Christmas programme, a free evening walk created by Indigenous artist Jason Carter, a Christmas on the gondola summit and horse-drawn sleighs below Cascade Mountain, all in a town of about 8,000 people.
What to do on Christmas Day in Banff?
Ride the gondola for Mountaintop Christmas, skate Lake Louise, soak at Banff Upper Hot Springs (open 10am-10pm), book a December 25 dinner at Crave, La Terrazza or The Fat Ox, the Mountains & Mistletoe brunch at The Juniper, or the castle's brunch and dinner. A Christmas Carol plays at the castle on Christmas Day.
Is there a Christmas village in Banff?
There is no permanent Christmas village in Banff. The closest thing is the Banff Christmas Market at the train station, which runs on select dates from November 19 to December 13, 2026. Details are on the Christmas market page.
Is the Christmas market open over Christmas week?
No. The market ends December 13, 2026, so it is closed over Christmas itself. Come in late November or early December if the stalls matter to you.
Are the hot springs open on Christmas Day?
Yes. Banff Upper Hot Springs opens daily 10am to 10pm with last entry at 9:30pm, including Christmas Day, Boxing Day and New Year's Day. Adult entry is $14.02 (C$19.75), paid at reception only with no advance tickets. See Banff Upper Hot Springs.
Do I need tickets for In Search of Christmas Spirit?
Yes. The walk is free but every guest over age 2 needs a reserved ticket and there are no group tickets. General admission for December 10 to January 3 releases November 30 at 10am, and guests of 15 participating hotels get early access. Times and access rules are in the In Search of Christmas Spirit section.
Can you skate on the frozen lakes at Christmas?
Yes, Lake Louise is the classic rink and the ice is resurfaced nightly. Skates rent at the Chateau or Wilson Mountain Sports in the village, and Chateau sleigh rides run from mid-December. Stay off the Plain of Six Glaciers and Lake Agnes trails in December because of avalanche terrain.
We may earn a commission if you book through one of our links, at no extra cost to you. Full affiliate disclosure